Elders @ St. James

The Elders of a congregation in the Presbyterian Church make up the governing body of the local church, the Session. The Nominating Committee nominates candidates for Elder after reviewing eligible Elder candidates from the congregation.

The nominated candidates are voted on at a congregational meeting. Currently there are 9 Elders assigned to Session committees based on the Elders’ skills and ministry gifts.

Elder duties include strengthening and nurturing the faith and life of the congregation; encourage the people in the worship and service of God; equip and renew them for their tasks within the church and the mission in the world;  assist in worship; cultivate their ability to teach; perform duties of the sacraments when called upon; perform committee duties and attend meetings as required to further the life of the church.

Our session is moderated by our pastor and chronicled by the clerk of session. Session meets each second Sunday of the month shortly following worship service.

Current Elders:
Lindsay Anderson
Teresa Bowers*
Aaron Caruso*
Sarah Condreay
Susan Diemont-Conwell
Faye Hill**
Maureen Kosa
Andrew McLaurin
Nebiyu Tesfa
*also serve as Trustee
** Trustee and Clerk of Session

Deacons @ St. James

The Deacons of Saint James are an elected board of 12 – 15 congregation members. The congregation of Saint James is divided into five parishes and each parish is assigned two deacons. Deacons are an integral and essential part of reaching out to and providing care-giving to the congregation of Saint James.

Deacons are often called upon to visit church members who are undergoing hardship or who are unable to come to church due to physical or medical situations. We provide the cookie and coffee service which takes place after our church worship services, help with funerary services, and support many other events which take place at the church. We keep in touch with members of the congregation through phone calls, cards and visits.

This year we will sponsor an All Parish Luncheon to get better acquainted with each other. We also sponsor an All Church Picnic in July.

Contact Information

If you would like to learn more about the role of the Deacons of Saint James Presbyterian Church, you may contact the church office at (360) 733-1325 or Moderator Alice Beaty.

Current Deacons:

Alice Beaty, moderator
Adam Beaty
Alice Bailey
Pam Gibson
Julie Keyes
Valerie McBeth
Amy Morriss
Kirsten Oliver
Jean Seater
Rick Seater
Carla Shafer
Merry Thomas